5 Ingredients that are not vegan and you might not know 5 Ingredients that are not vegan and you might not know

5 Ingredients that are not vegan and you might not know

These 5 ingredients might be hidden in your favorite foods and you might not know that they are not really vegan.

You might assume many foods are vegan and you consume them blissfully without knowing they might not be totally plant-based. 

5 Ingredients that are not vegan and you might not know

5 Ingredients that are not vegan and you might not know 

Casein

Casein is a protein in milk, it is usually found in cream soups, ice cream, margarine and some puddings that are labeled dairy-free 

Whey

Whey is a liquid that remains after milk is curdled and strained. It actually a byproduct of the manufacture of casein or cheese. It is a fairly common food additive present in cheese-flavored crackers, margarine, and other snacks. 

Confectioner's glaze

Though it sounds totally vegan, it is made out of crushed-up bugs and it is used on candy and baking product for a smooth and shiny finish. It is also sometimes listed as natural glaze, pure food glaze, or shellac.

Carmine or cochineal

Carmine  is used in all sorts of red-colored foods and it is also present in makeup.  

This is another ingredient made from crushed beetles usually used in red coloring, it is used in all sorts of red-colored foods and it is also present in makeup. 

Oleic acid or oleinic acid

Oleic acid can be produced out of rendered animal fat and it is usually used in vegetable fats, oils and synthetic butter. 

Aniela Dybiec

Aniela is a writer who loves art, makeup, and magick. She is also an amateur illustrator, a wellness fan and a vegetarian.+ info

Related Articles

More News

More News