Yes, there's plenty to choose from!
Not so long ago vegetarian people weren't that easy to find and there weren't many dishes for them in restaurants or fast-food chains (well, you could always eat lettuce and tomato... or bread, ok. See? It wasn't that easy)
Now, there are many different types of vegetarian diets, each with its own name and characteristics. Keep reading to find out everything about these diets so you are ready when you have friends over for dinner.
1-Flexitarian or semi-vegetarian
Often called the “safest” option because of its flexibility. It’s a plant-based diet, but meat or animal products can be included if the change feels too extreme or if there’s no time for planning meals ahead.
Mostly a plant-based diet but it also incorporates fish for its nutritional benefits. However, it doesn’t include meat (although some pescatarians include dairy and eggs to their diet).
One of the traditional forms of vegetarianism, lacto-ovo vegetarians don’t eat meat, fish nor poultry, but they still consume animal products such as dairy and eggs. This diet is excellent for people who are planning to go full-on vegan in the short run.
A plant-based diet that includes dairy products, but avoids meat, seafood, and eggs. You can still have milk, cheese, butter, and ice cream on this one, that’s cool.
Ovo vegetarians don’t eat meat, seafood, or dairy products, but they do eat eggs and products that contain eggs. Making sure that the eggs are organic is important to avoid exposure to pesticides or antibiotics.
“Pollo” means chicken in Spanish, pollo vegetarians incorporate multiple forms of poultry, like turkey and duck, into their plant-based diet. While they don’t eat other forms of meat, they may or may not choose to incorporate seafood, eggs, and dairy.
The least flexible one. Vegans don't eat any animal products, including meat, fish, poultry, dairy, and eggs nor any animal-derived product or byproduct. As this diet is very restrictive it requires a lot of meal planning.
You may also like this article!